Meet the 2017 MLK Staff Excellence and CLAS Leadership Award Recipients

awards certificatesThe 2017 recipients of the most prestigious awards given by the College to College of Liberal Arts & Sciences staff were celebrated at a reception in the Iowa Advanced Technology Laboratories building on March 8. (See photos below.)

The Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Award recognizes staff whose accomplishments and contributions to the College and the University have benefited their departments and brought honor or recognition to the College and the University. 

The College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Leadership Award recognizes staff members who exhibited exceptional leadership qualities and positively impacted individuals, departments, or the College.

At the reception, CLAS Executive Associate Dean Marc Armstrong expressed the College's respect and gratitude for the winners' service.

The Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Award is named for an alumna who earned a B.A. degree in speech from CLAS in 1930, and went on to work for the University, retiring in the 1940s. When she died in 1997, she left an estate gift that funds the Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Awards and the Mary Louise Kelley Professional Development Awards, which help staff members pursue professional-development opportunities.

The winners of the 2017 Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Award are:

  • Jeremy Faden, Physics & Astronomy
  • Michael Hendrickson, School of Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Amanda Jensen, Academic Programs & Student Development
  • Department of English:
    • Cherie Hansen-Rieskamp
    • Joelle Petersen
    • Hannah Rounds

The winners of the CLAS Leadership Award are:

  • Tom Koeppel, Physics & Astronomy
  • Barbara Pooley, English, Linguistics, Philosophy, Rhetoric
  • Jennifer Steil, CLAS Technology Services

Congratulations to all!

Photos from the 2017 reception for the recipients of the Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Award and CLAS Leadership Award (click to enlarge):